Blog #14 Reading, who doesn’t like reading?

This is a response to Rosenberg’s “Reading Games.”

Personally, I love reading. I don’t care what it is. It may take me a while to traverse the heavy words of a political document, but I can do it. Other people don’t like reading. This includes the simple things. I’ve never really understood it.

The author of the article I just read talks about those kinds of people. She suggests that people who don’t like to read take certain measures to improve their scope.

I agree with her on a few points, but I don’t think she is getting the message across well. Honestly, I think that most people who do not like to read are not going to change due to a few tips. If a person hates a third grade level book like Goosebumps (and really, who can hate those) then they are not going to be able to get through a document unless they get over themselves.

That’s right, I said. If a document has to be read for class you must get over it and get it done.

Churchill said, “Sometimes your best isn’t good enough. Sometimes you have to do what is required.” That is true in reading as well as anything else in life.

Don’t get frustrated. Take your time. Use a highlighter if you have to. Just read it.

Leave a Reply

